What is Yandex Direct: how does it work and what is needed to launch an advertising campaign? Login to your Yandex Direct personal account Login to Yandex Direct by login.

Yandex Direct is the largest contextual advertising network in Russia; only Google AdWords can compete with it. Contextual advertising allows you to quickly attract visitors to your site; you only pay for clicks on ads. Creating and further managing an advertising campaign is not too complicated, however, there are a number of nuances that you need to know. They help make your advertising campaigns in Yandex Direct more effective from an economic point of view.

Why do businesses need Direct? There are several answers:

  • Contextual advertising in general and Yandex Direct in particular is the most effective type of advertising that allows you to attract the required number of customers;
  • Targeted traffic can be received already on the first day of your website’s operation, unlike search engine promotion;
  • You can customize your targeting to show your ads only to your target audience, which is a must for some businesses.

Principle of operation

For simplicity, I will briefly and step-by-step describe the operating principle of Ya.D. As an example, let's take a company that sells airline tickets.

  1. The company creates its ad;
  2. The company selects targeted queries for the ad;
  3. The user enters a search query;
  4. Yandex shows him an ad that matches the user’s interests, which is why advertising is called contextual;
  5. The user comes to the site and buys a ticket;
  6. An alternative option: the user reads an article about the country on a site where he is shown an ad, since this site is a Yandex partner.

In search results, ads look like this:

On the site it will be like this:

Yandex.Direct plays the role of a link between the client and the company. Considering Yandex's share among search engines (more than 50%), the audience is huge. Moreover, the share of those who not only search for information on goods and services on the Internet, but also buy them there, is also growing. Contextual advertising provides opportunities that modern businesses should not ignore.

Choose “Professional”, as this option gives you more options for customizing your advertising campaign. If you do not have a country set in your Yandex settings, you will be asked for this data when creating a campaign in Yandex Direct. Next you will be asked to provide other personal data, everything is simple. As you can see, you can even connect SMS notifications.

Strategy allows you to choose a scheme for displaying ads; there are manual strategies, and there are fully automatic ones. There are 11 strategies in total; in Direct you can read their descriptions and choose what suits you. Most of all there are automatic strategies that allow you to choose an option depending on your current tasks. This could be maximum efficiency in terms of clicks and costs, maximum traffic, or other types. Start with the “Highest Available Position”, this is the optimal strategy for beginners. I'll talk more about strategies below.

They provide the opportunity to increase or decrease the cost of a click for a specific audience. There are three adjustment options:

  • Gender and age;
  • For mobile;
  • For those who have already visited the site.

You can install them at any time, so you can skip this point at first, it is not so important.

Time targeting Allows you to set the display time for ads. Everything is simple here, I won’t give advice, you yourself must know at what time you need clients. You can set up a show at any hour and any day of the week. If the time when a visitor visits your site matters to your site, then this settings item cannot be skipped. Sometimes it happens that part of the budget is wasted at night or on weekends.

Advanced geographic targeting is also a useful feature, but not for everyone. It allows you to show your ads to users from other regions, but only if they specify your region in the request. It is recommended to leave the checkbox, and for some sites this is absolutely necessary. For example, it is logical to display the request “Hotels in Kazan” in any region. But “order a bathhouse in Kazan” needs to be shown only in Kazan; it is obvious that the effectiveness of such an ad in any other region will be zero.

Single display region for all ads allows you to manually set the geography of your advertising. In some advertising campaigns, this is necessary to increase efficiency and to identify the target audience by geography.

Single address and telephone allows you to create a virtual business card for your company, where you can specify various data, from opening hours and phone number, to metro station and email. It is not necessary to fill in all data.

Now let's look at the following settings that complete the creation of an advertising campaign in Yandex.Direct, after which you can move on to creating ads and adding keywords.

They allow you to specify words that, if present in a search query, will not show your ad. Words are added there that may bring in a non-target audience. That is, the main task of negative keywords is to exclude the display of ads for information requests, leaving only commercial ones.

Allows you to configure the display of ads on sites that are members of the Yandex Advertising Network. The settings depend on what products or services you offer. For some, traffic from the search results page is better, while for others, traffic from topical sites is better. Especially when it comes to expensive and specific products. If you check “do not take into account user preferences,” then the ads will be thematic to the site page on which they will be displayed.

By default, there will be behavioral targeting, which takes into account the interests of the user, and not the subject of the site. If the user was looking for air tickets, Yandex will remember this and will show him relevant ads on all partner sites where behavioral targeting is allowed.

I’ll talk about impressions for additional relevant phrases below, but leave everything at default for now. The function will not work if Yandex.Metrica is not connected.

Site monitoring must be enabled (requires connection to Metrica). If your site goes offline, the advertising campaign will be stopped. If you run ads at night and on weekends, then you cannot do without this function. Below you can add a Yandex.Metrica counter.

Link markup will add tags to the url with the click number and transmit the data to Yandex.Metrica. The feature is useful and worth enabling.

Creating an ad

The Mobile Ad checkbox allows you to create an ad to display on mobile devices. For mobile phones, it is better to create separate ads that have their own specifics. If you skip this point, Yandex will independently convert your regular ad for mobile devices.

Heading must reflect the essence of the ad and must contain a key phrase. Are you involved in website promotion? He will write “Website promotion throughout Russia.” The title is limited to 33 characters, including spaces.

Announcement text can be up to 75 characters long. The text should:

  • Contain a call to action;
  • Contain a key phrase;
  • It may contain the words “discount”, “promotion”, etc. (if such services are available on your site), for users they are an additional factor that encourages them to click on the ad.

You can also add images, however, there is a minimum cost per click limit for such ads; in my example, I will not add an image. You can also add quick links:

I added links to the “Services” and “Prices” pages; if you have pages on your site where a visitor can immediately get what he needs, it’s worth adding quick links. They often increase the click-through rate of your ad.

Clarifications– an additional line in which you can indicate competitive advantages. They will be shown only in the first special placement and when viewed from a PC. They must also first undergo moderation; this is necessary so that Yandex employees can check whether the stated information is true. I'll skip that now.

Address and telephone– will allow you to specify contact information for the advertisement with the ability to add advertisements for display on Yandex.Maps. It is recommended to specify.

So, I ended up with a declaration like this:

This is how it will appear in search results. You can see other options, as well as how it will look on mobile devices. At this stage, the most difficult thing is to compose a good text, since you need to indicate maximum information in a minimum of characters. The text should be informative and make you want to click on the ad. But you need to be careful, because if you deceive users, you will have a large number of “empty” clicks without real results and failures on the site.

Keywords for ads

Yandex Direct gives you a tool for selecting keywords. This is a crucial stage that needs to be approached very seriously. We are interested in website promotion, so we enter this phrase and immediately see the tips:

I marked in yellow what I will add, since all these keys correspond to the services that my company provides. You can go the other way and click “Select”, then the following window will appear:

It is better to use this method, since the number of impressions is also displayed here. But you shouldn’t ignore the hints either. In this example, I will not add a lot of key phrases, my task is to explain the basic principles. But choosing the right keywords can greatly affect the effectiveness of your ads.

This example explains the principles of creating ads; in fact, this is not what you need to do. The fact is that for each group of keywords you need to create a separate ad. That is, making one ad with a lot of keywords (as in the example) is a mistake. In my example, separate ads need to be created for the phrases that are highlighted in yellow. This approach will increase CTR and reduce the cost per click, which I will discuss below.

In the negative words I will indicate the following:

These words will prevent ads from being shown to those who are looking for information and most likely will not order anything. Again, there are few negative keywords in this example; in fact, there are many more. I will leave the retargeting conditions unchanged, I will leave the display region as “Russia”, since I need clients from any city. I have a separate article about retargeting.

I will not touch the rate adjustment in this example. They allow you to set a price for a specific audience. For example, if you believe that men 25-35 years old will be your best audience, you can adjust your bids so that the cost per click for this group will be higher. I will also not set labels in this example.

As you can see, some settings duplicate the settings of the advertising campaign, so it is better to specify them there, so as not to enter them again each time. At any time, you can change the settings of both the entire advertising campaign in Yandex.Direct and a separate ad group.

This is where we finish creating the ad group and move on to choosing bids.

Setting prices per click

Yandex.Direct will automatically show us prices. Here are the things you need to know:

  • Special placement – ​​top of the page;
  • Guarantee – impressions at the bottom of the page.

Ads that are located at the top of the page get much more traffic, but they cost more. Sometimes there are situations where a warranty can be more expensive than a special placement, but this is rare. This happens due to poor ad settings; this is a kind of punishment from Yandex.

I get this picture:

Don’t be alarmed by high prices, it’s just a matter of keywords and the fact that the display region is not configured. It is clear that there is a lot of competition for such a request throughout Russia, which is why the price is so high.

Yandex.Direct works on the principle of an auction. Whoever paid the most will be shown the ad. It can be seen that upon request “seo promotion”, entrance to special accommodation costs 2,500 rubles (this is the maximum possible price). If the price is a little lower, then my ad will be shown when there are no other advertisers who will outbid my bid. If there are such advertisers, then your ad will not appear on the page in the search results, but on partner sites. The prices there are lower than in search results.

To display on partner sites, you also need to create separate ads in Yandex.Direct. In them, disable impressions in search, and in search ads, disable impressions on partner sites.

However, the price of 2,500 rubles per click does not suit me, so I will do what I said above, namely, create an ad for a different group of keywords and indicate the region.

It can be seen that the price has become much lower. This is why you need to create separate ads for different groups of keywords. In addition, such ads will have a higher CTR than those for general phrases. Yes, negative keywords allow you to exclude information requests, but you can’t provide for everything.

After you click “Save”, you will be redirected to the next page, where Yandex.Direct will show the productivity of the ads based on its own assessment. Productivity is calculated based on many factors, but in general, the higher this indicator, the more effective your ad is in terms of price and quality.

It can be seen that the second key phrase has higher productivity, simply because the region in this case is “Republic of Tatarstan”. Also pay attention to “site promotion” - the price for the specified region is 5 times lower than without this option. That is, if you need to collect traffic from all over the country, then you:

  • Create ad groups using keywords;
  • Create groups for different regions.

In my case, you can display the request “website promotion” in 10 regions and create a separate ad for each, but an ad with the heading “website promotion + region” will be more effective.

Next, the ad must be sent for moderation. Its speed depends on the number of ads, pages to navigate to and the volume of keywords. Moderation of an ad in Yandex.Direct rarely lasts longer than 48 hours; usually a response comes within a day. If the verification takes longer, do not hesitate and contact the support service, they have a feedback function.

About choosing a display strategy

By default, we left the "Highest available position" strategy, it will show your ads in the highest positions, but the cost of transition will be maximum. Sometimes you need to choose a different strategy, here I will give some tips.

If you are interested in traffic at a minimum price, then select “Display in a block at a minimum price.” For this, you can also select “Weekly package of clicks,” where you can specify the required number of clicks and also set the maximum price.

“Average cost per click” allows you to get the maximum number of clicks; in this case, you can specify expenses per week, and Yandex.Direct will set the rate automatically. “Weekly budget” also allows you to set a spending budget for the week, but you can also set conversion by goals using the connected Yandex.Metrica.

“Independent management” allows you to display your ads only on thematic platforms; the screenshot shows that I disabled their display in search results. In fact, there is nothing complicated in these strategies, but it is difficult to say which is the only profitable one, because each advertising campaign is individual. Experiments will help you understand what is more profitable for you, during which the most effective strategies will be identified.

Direct Commander

Direct Commander helps in managing large campaigns; it will be useful if you have several campaigns. You can download it from this link. The program is useful and really makes working in Yandex.Direct easier. If you have several advertisements, then you can do without it, but if there are dozens or hundreds of them, then you cannot do without the Commander.

To log in, enter your Yandex credentials, then click “Get campaigns” and Direct Commander will automatically download all the data. Also click on "Get Groups" and "Get Announcements". It can be seen that working in this program is more convenient than in the web interface, since here you can switch between campaigns and ads instantly.

Here you can also create, edit, send for moderation, disable and enable the display of ads, that is, all the functionality of the Yandex.Direct web interface is preserved. But, in my opinion, it is somewhat more convenient to create ads in the web interface.

A/B tests in Commander

Direct Commander is good because it makes it easy to conduct A/B testing (otherwise it can be called split tests). Their essence is to test ads with different settings to identify the best result. A/B tests in contextual advertising (and not only) are a very useful tool, without which only a person with extensive experience can create a truly effective campaign. But experienced people also use split tests.

Testing different ads in Direct Commander is very easy. First, select the already created ad and simply copy and paste it (right click).

  • Ad text and headings;
  • Display address
  • Absence or presence of address, price, phone number, quick links.

Sometimes it happens that just one word in the text can greatly change the CTR of an ad, so try different options and choose the best ones. This is especially necessary when the budget for an advertising campaign is large; here it is simply profitable to spend part of the funds on A/B testing.

About ad moderation

  • Advertising of products that cannot be advertised or are legally prohibited for distribution;
  • Use contact information or company logos in images;
  • CAPITAL letters in text or title.

For a number of products you will need to provide supporting documents (certificates, licenses). There is a whole category of goods and services, such as pyrotechnics, medicines, passenger transportation, insurance, etc. The full list, as well as the required documents, can be found.

If you receive a refusal, correct the indicated errors and resubmit your ad for moderation.

Budget forecast

Contextual advertising does not require a frivolous approach; you need to plan your budget. Ideally, you should understand how many visitors you need to attract and how many of them you need to become customers. These are clear goals that need to be set. There is a separate tool for budget forecasting. It can be used even before creating ads and an advertising campaign.

You also enter a list of key phrases, and Yandex will calculate the number of visitors and the amount you will pay to attract them. I note that this data is relative, because prices can change, advertisers can leave and come, which affects the cost. I got it like this:

I chose “Special Placement”, it is clear that I will have to spend 3453 rubles, which will attract about 388 visitors to the site. These data allow you to roughly estimate the budget, but it will always differ, it can be either a plus or a minus. After all, Yandex cannot accurately predict the CTR of each ad; it can only derive approximate indicators based on its data and statistics.

It can be seen that the phrase “Website promotion in Kazan” has a question mark. This means that Yandex cannot predict the budget for this phrase, since there are very few requests there. You shouldn’t pay attention to this; such ads can be very effective.

Evaluating the effectiveness of Yandex Direct

There are many metrics that track the effectiveness of contextual advertising in Yandex.Direct. This:

  • Conversion rate;
  • Behavioral factors of attracted visitors and other data.

Of course, the most important thing for a business is financial performance. Yandex.Direct is not a panacea that will definitely bring you clients. No, there will be clients, but if the cost of attracting them is more than you earn from them, then what is the point of contextual advertising?

Yes, for a number of companies Y.D. can be the main source of clients, but small companies that operate in a competitive environment must look for other ways. You’ve seen the prices in the example of “Site Promotion”, it’s really expensive, but only if you don’t delve into the settings.

It is impossible to tell everything about Yandex Direct and contextual advertising in one article; there are a lot of nuances, I will talk about them in other articles. But, I think that after reading this article, you are no longer new to Yandex Direct and will be able to use this effective tool to attract visitors and clients.

The increasingly popular YaD service was originally developed and intended for close interaction between advertising customers and those who seek to place texts on various thematic or commercial resources. To ensure the most efficient level of work, the portal offers the use of Yandex Direct login to the personal account on the official website, where clients automatically have access to unique useful portal operations.

The modern Yandex Direct advertising system was originally created for professional advertisers, company executives and entrepreneurs. Cooperation with this service consists of placing contextual and special search advertising on websites for those who, to some extent, are already target potential consumers. All this is able to provide a close connection between numerous advertisers and potential consumers.

Direct is able to show its users that they are already busy constantly searching for services provided, a huge number of offers that meet their requests. If you visit your Yandex Direct personal account, you can study in more detail the range and features of the services provided, as well as the rules, costs and general rules for connecting to the portal.

The presence of a personal section of this system makes it possible to manage the necessary pre-connected functions of the portal, and also allows you to use the tools available to the user to effectively optimize the advertising context.

Personal account features

Direct yandex ru personal account is characterized by a large number of advantageous features and advantages. It is quite difficult to list them all; you can simply describe the privileges of each:

  • Optimal control of the level of effectiveness of placed advertising;
  • Optimal management of personal projects through the creation and subsequent elimination of collection folders and process improvement;
  • Information data on statistics on Yandex balance Direct personal account;
  • Managing options related to setting up advertising offers on portals with the optimal ability to independently disable and connect them;
  • There is a variety of high-quality tools for carrying out operations with different types of advertising.

Due to the wide capabilities of the personal account, the client has the opportunity to significantly reduce costs on offers. At the same time, the level of its effectiveness does not decrease.

How to register?

In the corner at the top of the main resource page there is a special button for registration. You need to click on it and immediately go to the form where you will need to enter certain user data. Here you will need to carefully fill in the following lines:

  1. Last name and first name.
  2. Nickname for logging in. You can come up with it yourself, or you can take what the system offers.
  3. A password that is also created and then entered twice.
  4. Phone number.
  5. The code that came to it.
  6. A confirmation checkbox with the official user agreement installed.

After entering all the data, you must press the registration button. The client is then automatically taken to his personal section, where the interface is configured and work starts.

How to log into your Yandex Direct personal account?

The process is carried out from the main part of the portal. After clicking on “Login”, a person immediately sees a mandatory authorization form, where they need to enter the password and login created when activating the profile.

There are several more options for logging into Direct. The process is carried out through services such as:

  • Account in the mail of the same name.
  • Cloud, that is, virtual storage.
  • Internet wallet.
  • Official social network accounts.

In other words, if you log into one of the listed services, you can automatically gain access to the main advertising capabilities of this mechanism. The user remains in the system until he deliberately leaves it or leaves the resource for two or more hours. After such an exit, you will need to log into your Yandex Direct personal account again.

Personal account mobile application

The portal allows its numerous users to use a comfortable mobile application with slightly limited general functionality, unlike a personal account. After registration, the program is available for Android and iOS devices. Among the main advantageous functions of the application are the following:

  1. Studying information regarding phrases, different advertisements and organizations;
  2. Aggregated accurate statistics;
  3. Start and pause in display of advertising content;
  4. Transfer of funds;
  5. Ability to manage pricing with just one click.

Along with the capabilities provided, factors that are not available to users can be noted. This includes time and territorial targeting settings, the ability to choose a display strategy, studying virtual business cards, adding or changing sentence phrases, and also not creating different advertising campaigns.

Important! A modern mobile application is a fairly user-friendly tool. It greatly facilitates the work of the client being used, but at the same time cannot completely replace an individual account .

Advantages

Personal page Yandex Direct personal account registration is regarded by many as a professionally thought-out optimizer of effective contextual advertising, as well as offers from various companies and resources. Among the features and advantages of the portal and its personal page are the following:

  • This gives you access to a wide range of tools designed to effectively optimize advertising.
  • The client can independently determine the general nature of the portal optimization being carried out, disable and enable the permitted options.
  • It is possible to view poison statistics data.
  • It is possible to create and delete optimization resources on your own.
  • If desired, you can track the overall effectiveness of the optimization performed.

Working with a personal poison department makes it possible to seriously reduce expenses aimed at optimizing the advertising displayed. This is an ideal opportunity to get a fairly convenient tool for effectively improving your posted offers.

Official website Direct Yandex

The portal is a special, carefully thought-out service designed to host high-quality contextual advertising. It can be seen not only on the official pages of the search engine, but also on numerous partner sites. The Yandex system makes it possible to create competent advertising that helps to rapidly increase sales and attract a large number of customers and new sources of advertising.

The cost of advertising is formed in a special auction method, it all depends on the CTR, that is, the ratio of the number of clicks to the number of impressions produced. The minimum price is 30 kopecks, but at first the cost per click is quite high.

Conclusion

Each YD user receives the highest quality support from professional employees of this service, YAN and data in the My Companies section. The special portal contains all the necessary data, as well as answers to the most popular questions. If you cannot get help using the functionality presented to your attention, you can fill out a special form from the support service. All this suggests that YaD not only offers optimal functionality, but also a high level of customer service.

YD users have the opportunity to independently plan their balance, make various settings, make various changes in real time, and also choose a convenient position for displaying a block for their advertising. Users are presented with high-quality advertising blocks with a huge selection of formats, sizes, settings and design solutions.

  • Official website: https://direct.yandex.ru
  • Personal account: https://direct.yandex.ru
  • Hotline phone: 8 800 234-24-80

We've released a new book, Social Media Content Marketing: How to Get Inside Your Followers' Heads and Make Them Fall in Love with Your Brand.

Do you often think about the nature of things? I do. Everything has a purpose. And if we are given legs to walk and play football, then contextual advertising is created in order to generate profit.

Today we’ll talk about how to create in Yandex.Direct, how to launch the first campaign, write cool ads, set up impressions and stay strong, no matter what. Do you hear the stomping? These are horses harnessed to the road for new knowledge. Go.

Creating an account in Yandex.Direct: registration without stress and loss

And if you are hearing the words “account” and “registration” for the first time, then we will describe the whole process especially for you:

  • Go to the website direct.yandex.ru.
  • Click on the large button that says “Place an ad.” If you didn’t have mail on Yandex before, then congratulations - in order to go further, you will need to get it. Enter your details, create a password and login to log in. The registration itself will take about 5 minutes, but how much pleasure you will get from the process itself.
  • Let's get into the settings.

  • Select a country from the list.
  • We decide on the type of the first advertising campaign.

You will be offered three types:

Text and graphic ads are an ideal solution for promoting both goods and services.

The simplest and most universal type of advertising. These ads can be displayed in search and on thematic platforms. If you are new to the context and want all potential customers to know about your products and services, then you need the first type of ad.

They will be shown only on those devices on which your developments can be installed. Moreover, as in the case of the first variety, the demonstration will be both in search and in YAN.

Dynamic ads are what you need if your campaign will use a large number of similar offers.

This type only shows on search. You will need to specify the domain of the site for which dynamic ads will be generated, and write a text common to them. For this type of advertising, you will need to create a feed (automatic upload of goods/services, which is transmitted to the Republic of Kazakhstan). Programmers create the feed. The system will automatically create headings, key phrases and referral page URLs.

Once you make your choice, you'll be taken into the exciting world of setting up an advertising campaign.

How to properly set up a campaign in Direct: what, what, what, what is our advertising made of?

Optimally set campaign parameters affect everything: the conversion level, your income, expenses, business success.

Let's find out what you need to pay close attention to, what indicators are considered variable and whether something can be neglected.

  • Campaign name
  • Show schedule and dates

We indicate the start date of the campaign and the end date.

  • Ad display time

Your ads in Direct can be displayed around the clock, but such broadcasting can provide you with a large number of ineffective impressions. This can be avoided by providing the required information.

Time targeting is the schedule according to which your offers will be shown to potential customers.

With an accuracy of one hour, you can schedule the time for displaying offers. Set it up so that users see your ads only when your staff is working and available to take orders.

In addition, the time indicator can be changed and adjusted to the ongoing promotions.

If your store has special discounts from 10 to 12 am, then create a separate ad group and set up impressions at this time so that as many potential buyers as possible learn about their benefits and are sure to make a purchase.

  • Geography

Decide on your display region. This is relevant if your business has a certain regional connection. This way, your ads can only be seen by those users whose IP address corresponds to the selected region, as well as those who selected the region in the portal settings.

For example, you have your own roll delivery company in Moscow. Click on the “Refine” button and set the necessary parameters.

If you are targeting the whole of Russia, but are launching a campaign in any of the CIS countries, then do not forget to check the appropriate box.

  • Strategy

A strategy is a set of settings for your placement in Direct.

Choosing the right display strategy means saving your budget and creating a strong campaign. How you manage your bids and on which platforms your ads will be shown depends on your strategy.

The preference for one or another strategy is thought out in advance, because the effectiveness and budget of the campaign depend on the right choice.

Goals, planned budget and geotargeting are taken into account.

If you are just starting your advertising journey, we recommend that you refrain from playing strategist. If you thoughtlessly change settings or make the wrong choice initially, you can waste money, but still not get the coveted sales and orders.

Choose the strategy that is installed by default, namely “Manual bid management”. It will allow you to rationally use your own material resources and provide you with a sufficient number of impressions.

Only when you understand what influences bid dynamics and what makes your ads effective, try other options. Moreover, for each strategy there are a number of additional settings. We talked about them in detail.

  • Setting up on networks

Use YAN and increase your user reach, customize and expand your capabilities - re-show ads to users who were interested in your products or services, but never placed an order.

  • Bid adjustments

Adjustments can be used for:

  1. Target audience.
  2. Mobile phones.
  3. Gender and age.

This way, you can show your ad to your chosen audience at a higher position or with a higher probability than it would have happened with the original bid.

For example, if you have a pizza delivery network, it is logical to increase the rates for PCs, because while your potential customers are more likely to use them to order food at home.

  • Optimization and negative keywords

Negative keywords are words or phrases that, if used, will prevent the system from displaying your ad.

Don't ignore them, because they will help you avoid wasting your budget. Taking advantage of this unique opportunity couldn't be easier.

You set phrases for which your ads will not be shown, depriving yourself of non-targeted impressions and the same clicks.

For example, if you sell only children's bicycles, but cannot offer anything to older people, then exclude the word “adults”.

Dmitry Mazurov

  • Business card

She looks like this.

Remember that clicks on it will be paid even if the transition did not occur. However, you don’t have to be a soothsayer to come to a simple conclusion: if the user did make this click, it means he was interested in your offer. Therefore, do not play with fate, fill out a business card.

  • Metrics

Just as birds need the sky, and my grandmother needs Kolya Baskov on Channel 2, you need analytics. To be aware of everything, to keep control over the progress of the campaign - isn’t it great?

Yandex.Metrica helps you track which ads and search queries people use to come to your website. From which regions, from which sites. Report data will help you create a picture of your audience and understand what interests them most.

  • Notifications

It is important that the address in the “Notifications” field is current. After all, you will receive various notifications about the status of your account on it: information about the status of your account, changes in display positions.

If you want to change your email, just click “Customize”.

You will be taken to a menu where you can add a new address, decide on the conditions for receiving notifications, and save.

In addition to email, you can also set up SMS alerts. They are free and sent to your phone. Set parameters and give preference to a time period when it is convenient for you to receive new information about the status of the advertising campaign.

Mastery of words and deeds: creating a cool ad and collecting the keys correctly

Let's talk about how to collect SL and create excellent proposals based on it that will definitely attract the attention of users.

Queries that hit the target

Good keywords make a campaign effective, save money, and increase conversions.

To make it completely simple, we will perform all the calculations using a simple example.

Conversion = number of targeted actions / number of clicks * 100%

In this article, we will understand these actions as sales and orders.

I have my own online store of lids for jars. My RK conversion rate is approximately 0.5%. I am willing to pay no more than 50 rubles for one user.

If the conversion is 1%, then 100 clicks will bring 1 purchase. If it is 0.5%, like mine, then from 100 clicks I get half the purchase. From 200 – approximately one sale.

It turns out that if I’m ready to pay 50 rubles for one buyer, then my 200 clicks should cost a maximum of that much. If I bet more, I will be acting uneconomically.

Using simple mathematical calculations I get the average cost per click: 50 * 0.5 / 100 = 0.25

Of course, this formula is approximate and largely averages the entire process. When using it, remember that in some topics the cost per click is much higher than what you can offer. In this case, nothing can be done; all that remains is to develop a strategy that will not be limited only to identifying the cost per click.

How to create an account in Yandex.Direct and launch your first campaign: final parting words

If one day you firmly decide to conquer the Internet, express yourself to users and become a successful rich person or a cool specialist, stop and look at your dream, putting aside ambitions and ardor.

Register in Direct, fill out the necessary forms, create ads and collect keywords - just prepare the ground.

To get a great harvest, you will have to work hard: monitor statistics, change basic campaign settings, rewrite, rework, adjust, distribute and supplement. All this takes time, effort, nerves and cookies.

You can make your path to glory easier in two ways: by trusting or by starting an independent assault on an impregnable contextual fortress by reading ours.

Hello, dear readers of the blog site. Today we will talk about the Yandex Direct contextual advertising system, how to create a new campaign, what settings to choose for it, how to create ads and what cost per click to set. We will also consider the principles of increasing the profitability of an advertising campaign and compare it with Google AdWords (a direct competitor).

Those. contextual advertising can serve you well not only at the initial stage of project development, when the SEO has not yet begun to produce results, but can also completely replace search promotion due to its greater economic feasibility. That. Advertising in Yandex Direct is fast and sometimes even cheap, but not always.

What you see in the picture above is called search contextual advertising, but besides it there is also thematic advertising. It is placed on thematic sites (third-party sites that were) and differs from the search engine in that on thematic advertising Yandex earns only half of the amount (the second half is allowed) that the advertiser pays (it is the click on the ad that is paid, not the number of ads). views).

In search advertising, all ads will be relevant to what the user entered. When placing Yandex Direct ads on thematic platforms, two options are possible, depending on how the site owner set it up using the behavioral targeting activation function.

If behavioral targeting is disabled in the YAN site settings, then only ads relevant to the content of this page of the site, which is a thematic platform, will be shown.

But let’s once again repeat the advantages inherent in Yandex Direct (and Google AdWords, and Begun too), and also note the general features of contextual advertising as a means of attracting visitors:

  1. It allows you to very quickly attract visitors to your website (roughly speaking, drive traffic). That is, you will receive visitors on the same day you launch your advertising campaign.
  2. If you understand all the nuances, then contextual advertising systems will provide you with the opportunity to very finely tune the expenditure of funds throughout the entire campaign, depending on your desires and capabilities.
  3. You can significantly increase the profitability of the same Yandex Direct only through more subtle and correct settings of ads.
  4. Payment is made per click (PPC - Pay per click). Those. The ad can be shown as many times as you like, and you will only pay for clicks from users who are interested in it.
  5. Cost per click in Direct (and others like it in AdWords with Runner) determined by auction. Roughly speaking, each advertiser makes his own bid (is willing to pay such and such a price for a click on his ad). Based on the bet made, places will be allocated when displaying ads in search results or on thematic sites - the higher the cost per click, the higher it will stand.
  6. As a result, the cost of a specific space in a block is effectively determined by competitors' bids. Those. The more competitive the topic of the search queries for which you want to show your ad, the higher the cost per click will be, which will allow you to take the desired place.

Where are Yandex Direct blocks located in search engine results?

In search results There are several places where Yandex Direct ads can be placed:

You can find out the rules for display in all places allowed for them from. Firstly, this very clickable area located directly above the search results (practically merges with it), which is called Special accommodation.

When you set a price per click in Yandex Direct, you will definitely be told how much the first place in special placement now costs and how much it costs to get into it.

They will also tell you what the cost per click should be so that you can get to the first place in the right column of ads, and the price that will need to be set to get into the so-called guaranteed impressions. The fact is that a situation often arises when there are many more advertisers who want to be placed on a given request than the search engine can provide places to display them.

By the way, all Direct ads that claim to be displayed in search results for this request can be seen by clicking on the “All ads” link located above the special placement area. Accordingly, what does Yandex do? In special placements, he shows only those who deserve it by setting the desired cost per click.

In the right column, the first three or five ads will form the group called guaranteed impressions, and all the remaining ads (there may be several dozen of them) our wise Yandex will display below the area of ​​guaranteed impressions in rotation mode. It is enough to refresh the search results page to understand exactly where the area of ​​guaranteed impressions ends and where rotation begins.

Moreover, the situation with the position of your site in Yandex Direct placements may change, for example, due to the fact that one of your competitors runs out of money for display and you may end up a little higher than you expected. But I repeat once again that the position of your advertising will be determined primarily by the cost per click that you set. Let's now just see how it all looks in practice.

Creating your own advertising campaign in Yandex Direct

In order for you to be able to use Direct, you need to have a so-called or, in other words, be registered in this system. In general, nothing new - exactly the same requirements were present when trying.

If you don’t have a passport, then simply, the login and password for which will now be your account.

After logging in, you can go to the page Direct.Yandex.ru and click on the purple “Advertise” button. You will be asked to choose an option for further work with this contextual advertising system - easy and professional.

It's better to choose the second option ( professional), because it will allow you, even without particularly loading yourself with knowledge, to significantly increase the profitability of your advertising campaign in Direct compared to the “easy” option, where many steps will be performed by an automatic machine.

Click on the “Start using the service” button and you will find yourself at the first step of the wizard for creating an ad for the Yandex Direct system. But here it is also worth dwelling on such a concept as advertising campaign, which is united not only by common settings, but also by a common budget.

One advertising campaign can include several ads, each of which will be shown as long as the campaign budget is not zero. As soon as this budget runs out, all ads from it are immediately removed from display.

But let's get back to creating a new ad in Direct. So, at the first step of the wizard, in the “Campaign name” field, you will need to enter it, or select one of the existing ones. Next, you can specify its start date and end date, as well as configure SMS notifications or email.

The search engine will inform you that, for example, one of your Direct campaigns has run out of money, the budget is running out, or the placement of your ads has changed (if, for example, your competitor has increased the cost per click).

Time targeting It may be necessary, for example, to select the time for displaying advertising only during business hours of your company, because at other times there is simply no one to answer the calls of attracted users and the money will be wasted.

When setting it up in Direct, you can simply click the mouse to remove the plus signs at the intersection of the time of day and days of the week, but in such a way that the total remains at least forty hours of shows on weekdays.

It also makes a lot of sense to choose the region in which to display the ad you created.

Setting up a campaign in Direct - reducing cost per click and costs

In the next area, called “Prohibited Sites,” you can add those thematic sites where you do not want your ads to appear (for example, on https://site).

The only problem arises is that Yandex does not disclose the list of its advertising platforms that are included in YAN (on which Direct runs) and therefore you can only add sites that are already known and have not earned your trust.

In addition to prohibiting display on certain sites, you are provided with a tool such as “Restrictions on thematic sites.” As a result, a pop-up window will open:

From the “Keep expenses within limits” drop-down list, you can set the percentage of the total campaign budget expense for spending on sites from YAN. As soon as the sites consume this percentage of the budget, Direct ads will stop showing on them.

For example, sites from YAN have eaten up half of your budget - that’s it, display on them stops and now your advertisements will only appear in search. If you select zero in this list, then advertising on sites included in YAN will not run at all.

From the "Maximum CPC" drop-down list, you can reduce the cost per click on thematic platforms in relation to the price in Yandex search results. True, if you significantly underestimate it, then on many thematic platforms of Yandex Direct your advertising simply will not be shown, because whoever pays the most will be shown.

A checkmark in the “Do not take into account user preferences” field will prevent your advertising from being displayed on pages with irrelevant content, even if the site owner has activated behavioral targeting in the settings of his site in YAN. Those. Your advertising about refrigerators will not appear in articles about search engine promotion.

If the CTR of your ad in Direct (the ratio of clicks to impressions) is too low, then it will no longer appear in search results, but will continue to appear on sites (platforms) included in YAN. If you don’t need this, then check the box “Stop impressions in YAN when a new phrase is disabled in search.”

What follows is, in my opinion, a useful function that should be left active - Autofocus (clarification of phrases). If it suddenly turns out that you, due to inexperience or accidentally, chose the wrong words for which your ad should be shown, then the Auto Focus function itself will be able to make the necessary changes to correct the situation.

And now a little more about this. When creating an ad in Direct, you specify words (plus words), the presence of which in a search query (entered by a Yandex user) should trigger the display of your masterpiece.

But if “plus words” are poorly chosen, your ad may have too low a CTR (Click Trough Rate - clicks divided by impressions and multiplied by one hundred percent) and its the show will be paused.

When Autofocus is active, Direct itself will add the necessary, in its opinion, minus and plus words, but will not affect yours. As a result, your CTR will likely increase and you will be notified to use this option. If it is not possible to increase the CTR to the required level the first time, then Yandex will apply Autofocus again until the desired result is achieved. You can read more about this.

In the “Strategies” settings, you can choose one of two manual strategies or one of three automatic ones. All of them are described in some detail.

The manual mode, with the right experience, will allow you to increase the profitability of your campaign, but initially it will probably be best to use one of the automatic strategies, for example, “Weekly Budget”, where you set a limit for spending per week and determine the maximum possible price clique.

When using the manual “Highest available position” strategy, you need to remember that you control the cost per click yourself, and in Yandex Direct there is no limit on the budget, which can lead to unplanned rapid expenditure.

This usually happens at the initial stage of getting to know this contextual advertising system due to an error caused by your inexperience. Generally, no budget limit when choosing a manual strategy, this is, in my opinion, a significant drawback of Direct.

There is, however, a not entirely easy-to-use way to insure yourself. It is enough to transfer money to your campaign account in Yandex Direct a little at a time, for example, so that, according to your estimates, it is enough for only one day. Then no incidents should happen to you and your money, even when choosing a manual strategy.

Many, by the way, use this method if they need to show an ad only for a few hours a day, but Direct imposes a limit of a minimum of 40 hours a week. By the way, Google AdWords has a daily budget limit.

Let's move on. Website monitoring will allow you to disable ad impressions if your resource suddenly becomes unavailable (broken). This gadget will only work correctly if you have . You can read about how to activate in the metric at the link provided.

A checkmark in the “External Internet Statistics” field will allow you to track the success of your advertising campaign through visit counters such as and.

All links in your advertisements will be mixed with all the details about its location, clicks, etc., and in the statistics of the mentioned visit counters you will be able to sort everything out and track effectiveness(more details).

The next important option in the settings is “Calculate prices by position”. Here you can check the box “Do not take into account automatically stopped ads of competitors”, which probably should not be activated, because in this case you will not see the full picture of the rates (prices) per click, because you will not take into account those who are currently out of money (but their bids may adjust your expected display positions for you when they report the money).

Creating advertisements in Yandex Direct

Click on the “Next” button and go to the next step of the wizard for creating a new ad in Direct. Please note that the maximum length of the title is limited to 33 characters, and the text is limited to 75 characters. When you type text, the remaining number of characters available will be displayed next to it.

Next, we need to link by keywords by clicking on the “select” button in the “New key phrases” field. As a result, a familiar one will be revealed to all of you in a slightly cropped version. Check the boxes next to the keywords that suit you and click on the “Add” button.

You can add something else from the right column “Tips”, then click on the “organize and clarify” button. In general, you should try to select the most accurate keys and at the same time be very active use negative words, by clicking on the “clarify” button and ticking those that you do not want to see in the search queries for which your advertising will be shown. Negative words can also be added directly to the line with keywords by placing a “-” sign in front of each of them.

Next, you can select the categories in which you want to display your ad, or you can even check the “do not show in the catalog” box, because this is very expensive. Click the “Next” button to go to the last step of the wizard.

Cost per click, autobroker and getting into Direct placements

As you can see, for the keywords you selected, Direct reported the cost per click in order to get into the first place of special placement, as well as the cost per click for taking first place in the column and the price for getting into guaranteed impressions. Moreover, the use of “minus words”, as a rule, leads to reduce the cost per click to get to all these places.

In the “maximum” column, you are shown the maximum reasonable bid for a given keyword, and you are free to change it immediately by entering numbers according to your understanding.

In the “on search” column, the Yandex Direct system shows the price per click that it will charge you, and usually it will coincide with the price of the first place in special placement, which will correspond to one hundred percent coverage of the audience for this search query (indicated in the column of the same name).

If someone beats your bid indicated in the “search” column and squeezes in above you, then the algorithm will begin to increase your cost per click to the value that you indicated in the “maximum” column.

It does it all auto broker, whose settings are activated at the bottom of the window with the “Show autobroker settings” link. I recommend using an autobroker, because it is very convenient and, as a rule, effective.

You should set prices per click depending on the number of visitors you need and their ability to compensate for your costs of paying for the Yandex Direct context. It is advisable, of course, to set such a maximum cost per click in order to at least get guaranteed impressions, but this depends on the specific situation.

When the cost per click decreases below guaranteed impressions, audience coverage will begin to decrease, i.e. not all users will be able to see your ad (even at the very bottom of the column).

Getting into special accommodation for a short period of time can be used for announcements like “office lunches”, when the need is strong, but not for long. In most cases, you need to look for a middle ground between the cost of a click and the effectiveness of an advertising campaign on Yandex.

When you decide on the prices per click for all keywords, click on the “Next” button and on the page that opens, send your ad for moderation, because not all texts can be posted in Yandex Direct.

How to reduce costs and increase returns from a Yandex Direct campaign

But one of the most significant factors will most likely be the correct composition of the title and text. The importance of this factor is very difficult to overestimate, but we can give some general advice on correct preparation of advertisements for Yandex Direct and other contextual advertising systems:


Which is better - Direct or Google AdWords?

As I mentioned just above, the Yandex contextual advertising system in RuNet has competitors in the form of Google AdWords and Begun. Although, the latter should not be taken seriously due to the low degree of its coverage of the user audience, but Advods has more than a third of the Russian market and is a very serious competitor to Direct.

To say that AdWords is significantly better than Yandex advertising would probably not be correct. But by and large, it has more flexible settings (due to this it is somewhat more difficult to learn) and in most cases it will be cheaper. But this does not mean that you need to run headlong to advertise in Advodst, ​​because for some search queries only Direct can give you serious traffic.

For example, for some request, it is quite possible that you will spend the same amount in a day in Yandex Direct as in Google AdWords in a week. But at the same time, on this very day of advertising you will have the same number of calls and purchases as on the last day of the week.

Those. “the same thing for the same thing” will work, but in Yandex it will work out much faster, because The target audience for this request is looking for information mainly in the RuNet mirror. But there are also queries where the target audience will mainly look for answers on Google, but still the majority of commercial consumer requests Russians search specifically in the domestic search engine.

But nevertheless, Google Adverds has one trump card that its Russian counterpart does not have (probably Y.Bayan does not count, because it is actually a separate advertising agency) - the opportunity for pennies. Banners, unlike the context, are not required, and indeed are not able, by and large, to attract visitors to the site, unless they are designed in the form.

A banner serves the purpose of branding or, in other words, product recognition, and investing in such advertising is a long-term investment, which can nevertheless play a very significant role in increasing the income of the campaign. Beginning businessmen do not always understand this, but over time they will certainly come to the same conclusions - first you are working on creating a brand, and then the brand works for you.

So, direct placement of banners is a very expensive pleasure, which, of course, pays off over time, but AdWords allows you to conduct a banner advertising campaign for mere pennies. The fact is that in Adwords, along with text ads, you can give graphic and video ads, which will be displayed on sites that are part of the.

It is quite possible that in AdWords you will pay significantly less than one hundred rubles for a full-size banner that spans the entire width of the page for 10,000 impressions, because The CTR of banners is very low and there will be very few clicks on it. But it still fulfills its branding function and you don’t have to pay crazy money for it.

What types of accounts are there?

Previously, Direct had two interface options: easy and professional. The first was made so that those who doubt their abilities spent more money it was easier to get used to it and weren’t afraid of the settings. The second is the one where you can actually manage the campaign and budget. Now all Direct accounts are professional, but they can be:

  • Client;
  • Agency;
  • Without VAT.

A client account is an ordinary one that can be created by absolutely anyone.

Agency is distinguished by the ability to create subaccounts for projects and transfer control. Campaigns in it are moderated faster, it has its own support and is more responsive, but it is impossible to create it as a non-legal entity, and it is not so easy for it.

Only non-residents of the Russian Federation can create a Yandex.Direct account without VAT. True, there are methods to bypass it and a shadow business has been established to sell to everyone.

Since the simplest and most accessible type of account is the client account, I will describe it.

Creating a client account

  1. Mail registration

  1. User Settings

Now go to https://direct.yandex.ru, click on the “Place an advertisement” button.

Select a country. It is important to indicate the correct information, because the currency and payment methods depend on this, and it cannot be changed later.

And you immediately need to choose the type of the first campaign.

Let me briefly explain here:

  • Text and graphic ads are the same familiar and universal ads in search engines and on partner sites. It's better to start with them.
  • Dynamic – for search only. Their essence is that they are automatically created exactly for each request based on the content of the site or feed. At first glance this is great, but at second glance it’s difficult. For the first campaign, it is better not to experiment.
  • Advertising for mobile applications - shown only on mobile devices, the goal is installations.

Select text and image ads and click “Start using the service.”

  1. Create a Campaign

We get to the page where there will be general campaign settings. Since we are not creating anything yet, but only want to view our personal account, we simply select any display region, since otherwise Direct will not lag behind, and click “Next”.

  1. First announcement

Here you will have to fill in the title, text and link.

Below you need to enter a key phrase.

Now you can click “My Campaigns” at the top and view your account.

What does a Direct account look like?

Here he is. It's practically empty for now, but there's still something to see.

Top Menu:

  • “Create Campaign” will guide you through the step you just completed;
  • “Selection of words” will be sent to Wordstat, a query statistics service;
  • “Budget Forecast” will help you see how many impressions and clicks there can be on average for selected phrases with average budgets for positions, and estimate the approximate cost per click.

Total score. It is enabled by default and I do not recommend turning it off. Its essence is that the money will go to all campaigns on the account.

On the right there are two inscriptions: “Payments and documents” and “User settings”. The first one will lift the accounting curtain of Direct - the section will contain accounts, acts, reconciliations and other scary things.

In “User Settings” everything is simpler: there you can change information about yourself, set up notifications and some other amenities.

Let's return to the general page. In the list of campaigns for each, you can immediately see some settings (bright - active, pale - not), activity status, number of clicks since launch and information about the daily budget limit.

  • Audience selection conditions are needed mainly for retargeting - showing ads to someone who has already been on the site.
  • Feeds – for creating dynamic ads.
  • Commander is a program for creating and managing campaigns. I recommend downloading it right away, because it is much more convenient than the web interface and is simply irreplaceable for large campaigns.
  • XLS/XLSX - allows you to upload and download campaigns into Excel. For small campaigns, Commander can be substituted, and this is convenient for automatic generation and processing.
  • The API allows you to create your own applications to manage Direct.
  • The Virtual Business Card Filling Wizard is needed to change, add to advertisements or delete contacts and a small description.

After the campaigns are launched, another interesting detail will appear - an indicator of account quality.

It takes values ​​from 0 to 10 and demonstrates the effectiveness of advertising. If it is below 10, the system offers recommendations. The indicator is controversial, since efficiency should be measured by payback, but you can look closely at it as a guideline.

Now that the account has been created and briefly reviewed, you can move on to more interesting things. But more on that next time.

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